About the Board

The TJPA Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from the City and County of San Francisco and the State of California, including the SF Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA), the Office of the Mayor and the Board of Supervisors; the Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District (AC Transit); and the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board-Caltrain, composed of the City and County of San Francisco, the San Mateo County Transit District, and the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority.

Regular Board meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 9:30 am in San Francisco City Hall Room 416, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, San Francisco, CA 94102.

All Board meetings are open to the public and are generally televised live on SFGovTV2, cable channel 78.  Live broadcasts can also be viewed online at sfgovtv.org or by clicking on the direct link here. SFGovTV archives include a recording of each meeting, an agenda with links to the specific portion of the meeting, a file containing all closed captions for the deaf from the meeting and an MP3 recording of the meeting. Please check the Meetings page of our website for agendas, minutes, and notice of any cancellations, room changes, or special meetings.

Board of Directors

Greg Harper, Chair
AC Transit Representative
Greg Harper was appointed to the TJPA by the Alameda-Contra Costa (AC) Transit District.  Mr. Harper, a former Emeryville mayor, was elected in November 2000 to the AC Transit Board where he currently serves representing Ward II, which includes portions of Berkeley and Oakland and all of Emeryville and Piedmont. A principal in a local law firm, Director Harper is active in regional civic affairs and has served on the Regional Planning Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments. He also has served on public bodies including the Bay Area Air Quality Management District, Alameda County’s Transportation Commission, the Alameda County Housing Authority, and the Blue Ribbon Task Force for Water Transit in the Bay Area. Director Harper earned two Bachelor’s Degrees at the University of Illinois and his Juris Doctor Degree from Hastings College of the Law.

Mohammed Nuru, Vice Chair
Office of the San Francisco Mayor Representative

Mohammed Nuru has served as director of San Francisco Public Works since 2011, overseeing one of the City’s largest and most complex operations with a 1,200-member work force and a $223 million annual operating budget. The department’s active capital project portfolio exceeds $3 billion. Prior to that, he served 11 years as the deputy director for operations. The department’s responsibilities range from construction management of major capital projects, including the SF General Hospital rebuild and the Moscone Center expansion, to street cleaning, tree care, job training and sewer repair. Director Nuru earned a Bachelor of Landscape Architecture from Kansas State University. He was appointed to the TJPA by Mayor Ed Lee on June 27, 2014. His Twitter handle is MrCleanSF.

Jeff Gee
Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board Representative

Jeff Gee was appointed to the TJPA Board by the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board (JPB) in December 2015.  Jeff represents the City of Redwood City, and San Mateo County by serving on several regional public agency committees and boards, including his appointments as a Director and Past-Chairman of the SamTrans Board of Directors; a Director on the JPB which oversees CalTrain, immediate Past-Chairman of the San Francisco Airport Community Roundtable; and Chairman of Commute.org, San Mateo County’s transportation demand management organization.  Jeff is serving his second term on the Redwood City Council.  He was elected to his first term in 2009, served as Redwood City’s Mayor in 2014 and 2015, and served as Vice Mayor in 2012 and 2013.  In November of 2013, Jeff was re-elected to a second term on the City Council and he was unanimously selected by his City Council colleagues to serve as the Mayor.

Jane Kim
San Francisco Board of Supervisors Representative
Jane Kim was appointed to the TJPA by the San Francisco Board of Supervisors. Ms. Kim was elected to the Board of Supervisors in 2010. She currently serves as a member of the BOS Budget & Finance Committee and chairs the BOS Rules Committee, as well as sitting on the San Francisco County Transportation Authority Budget & Finance Committee and the Treasure Island Development Authority Board. Ms. Kim previously served four years on the San Francisco Board of Education, most recently as its President. She is also a civil rights attorney and former Senior Community Organizer working on issues of affordable housing development, youth workforce development and community benefits. You can learn more about her here: http://www.sfbos.org/index.aspx?page=11324

Edward Reiskin
San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency Representative
Ed Reiskin, Director of Transportation for the City’s multimodal San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency (SFMTA), was appointed to the TJPA by the SFMTA Board of Directors. Mr. Reiskin was Director of the Department of Public Works (DPW) from 2008 until assuming his post at the SFMTA in July 2011. While at DPW he oversaw development and opening of several LEED-certified landmarks, including Laguna Honda Hospital and several branch libraries and recreation centers. He also served as the first Director of the City’s 311 Customer Service Center. Prior to coming to San Francisco he served as Interim City Administrator and as Deputy Mayor for the Government of the District of Columbia. He also worked for three years as an assistant to the Oakland City Manager. His career has included conducting academic research on sustainable development and working as an engineer and manager in the private sector.

Bijan Sartipi (ex officio)
State Department of Transportation Representative
Bijan Sartipi has been an ex officio member of the TJPA Board since 2006. He has been with the California Department of Transportation for more than 25 years, and has been the District 4 Director since 2002. As District 4 Director Mr. Sartipi is responsible for overseeing Caltrans operations in the nine Bay Area counties. Mr. Sartipi serves as Commissioner on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission representing the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency. He also serves as an alternate Commissioner of the Bay Conservation Development Commission and is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers.

H.E. Christian Peeples for Greg Harper